Home News Updates IIT Kanpur Signs Joint Doctoral Degree Agreement with University of Alberta, Canada

IIT Kanpur Signs Joint Doctoral Degree Agreement with University of Alberta, Canada

3 min read

The Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IITK) and University of Alberta, Canada recently signed an agreement for a joint degree program (JDP) and research collaborations for doctoral students at either university to participate in the joint degree program and conduct research at the partner university. The agreement will also foster research collaborations between faculty members of the two universities on energy materials, systems and technologies needed towards clean energy transition.

The agreement sets out guidelines for faculty from the two universities to jointly supervise a doctoral student and will give admitted students a chance to conduct research and visit the partner university for a period of one year or more. The joint doctoral program will provide students with the opportunity to work with world-renowned faculty at both institutions in key research areas of mutual interest and will allow them to gain valuable experience while pursuing their doctoral studies. IIT Kanpur will also collaborate with the University of Alberta in the Joint Research Innovation Network with a focus on developing new, renewable, and efficient energy materials, systems, and technologies for the clean energy transition to address climate issues.

The agreement was signed by IIT Kanpur Director Prof. Abhay Karandikar, and Prof. Dhirendra Katti, Dean of International Relations from IIT Kanpur, and Prof. William Flanagan, President and Vice-Chancellor and Dr. Cen Huang, Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (International) from the University of Alberta. Prof. Andre McDonald, Associate Vice President (Strategic Research Initiatives and Performance); Dr. Amit Kumar, Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering; and Dr. John Bell, International Research Office, Office of the Vice President (Research and Innovation) from the University of Alberta were also present at the signing ceremony. From IIT Kanpur, Prof. AR Harish, Dean of R&D; Prof. Kantesh Balani, Dean of Resources & Alumni; Prof. Shalabh, Dean, Academic Affairs and Prof. Ashish Garg, Head, Department of Sustainable Energy Engineering were also present.

Prof. Abhay Karandikar, Director IIT Kanpur, said, “The agreement will allow us to share expertise and resources and will help to advance research in key areas of mutual interest.”

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Editorial team
Load More In News Updates
Comments are closed.

Check Also

The tide of growing mistrust in National Testing Agency (NTA) needs to be reversed

Union Education Minister, Dharmendra Pradhan, is facing his first major political and admi…