Home Awards & Recognitions IIT Roorkee announces its Research Awards of 2022

IIT Roorkee announces its Research Awards of 2022

6 min read

Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (IIT Roorkee) announces its Research Awards 2022. Every year, the institute presents these awards to recognize the awardees’ outstanding contributions to their chosen careers. IIT Roorkee Research Awards are open to all Indian nationals and have winners from various prestigious institutes nationwide. This time, it has five awardees in multiple categories, including the Khosla National Award (Sciences). These awards have been in existence ever since the university was established.

Dr. Kanishka Biswas, the recipient of the Khosla National Award (Sciences) is Professor in the New Chemistry Unit at Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore, with research interests focused on renewable energy and clean environment. Dr. Kanishka Biswas has reported original and significant discoveries in the field of thermoelectric and solid-state inorganic chemistry in the last ten years of his independent career, which is marked by high quality publications and recognized by several international and national honours. He is also a recipient of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Chemical Sciences in 2021 and Swarnajayanti Fellowship 2019.

Dr. R.P. Saini, awarded with the HRED Hydro & Renewable Energy Award was Professor in Hydro and Renewable Energy Department at IIT Roorkee. He has done significant and innovative research related to Hydro Power, Solar Energy, and Integrated Renewable Energy Sources and had been able to numerically simulated experimentations conducted in domains related to Hydro Power. He had research experience of 35 years and published more than 370 research papers in International/National journals and seminars/conferences, 1 Book, 8 Book chapters, 2 Manuals and 1 Guide Book. Further, 2 patents on Micro Turbines have been granted from his contribution to the field of renewable energy.

Prof. D. P. Kanungo is declared the A.S. Arya Disaster Prevention Award winnerProf. Kanungo is the Chief Scientist & Group Leader of the Geo-Hazard Risk Reduction Group of CSIR-CBRI, Roorkee. Also a Professor of Physical Sciences at the Academy of Scientific and Innovative Research (AcSIR), India. Specialized in Engineering Geology and Landslide Disaster Mitigation. Current research interests are Landslide Hazard-Vulnerability-Risk Assessment, Instrumentation and real-time monitoring, Early Warning System, Geophysical characterisation and modelling of landslides. He is a Raman Research Fellow of CSIR.

Dr. Deepankar Choudhury, Professor IIT Bombay, won the Gopal Ranjan Technology Award. He served as an Adjunct Professor of the AcSIR of CSIR laboratories (connected to CSIR-CBRI Roorkee) of India. Prof. Choudhury is the only Geotechnical Engineer of India who is an elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI), the oldest Science Academy of India, Internationally he is Alexander von Humboldt Fellow of Germany, JSPS Fellow of Japan, and TWAS-VS Fellow of The World Academy of Sciences, Italy, Fellow of ASCE, USA (F.ASCE), in addition to National Fellow of Institution of Engineers India (FIE), Indian Geotechnical Society (FIGS), Indian Society of Earthquake Technology (FISET).

Dr. Satish Chandra awarded with S. R. Mehra Memorial Award. He is a Professor in Civil Engineering Department at IIT Roorkee. He has an illustrious professional career of more than 36 years and has contributed immensely in teaching and research in the areas of Highway Capacity and Bituminous Material Characterization. He has extensively published in journals of international repute, which are refereed widely in India and abroad.

Speaking on the occasion, Prof K K Pant, Director, IIT Roorkee, said, “My heartfelt congratulations go out to all the awardees. Many outstanding researchers and institutions have been recognized with these awards for their research excellence. Awards like these are a great way to recognize research excellence in India. By advancing the frontiers of knowledge, impactful research benefits the country and the world.”


Load More Related Articles
Load More By Editorial team
Load More In Awards & Recognitions
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Union Budget 2024-25: ₹1.48 lakh crore has been allocated for education, employment and skilling

Finance Minister announced the Prime Minister’s package of 5 schemes and initiatives to fa…