Home News Updates IIT Roorkee Convocation–2023: 1916 students receive degrees

IIT Roorkee Convocation–2023: 1916 students receive degrees

6 min read

Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (IIT Roorkee) awarded 1916 degrees—1077 Undergraduates, 685 Masters and 154 PhDs in its Convocation-2023 ceremony held on July 28.  Dattatri Salagame CEO, President, Bosch Global Software Technology, delivered the Convocation address.

The event was attended by the awardees (dressed in Indian attire of kurta and saree), their families, staff members and presided over by B V R Mohan Reddy, Chairman, Board of Governors of the Institute. Director Prof K K Pant welcomed everyone, congratulated the graduates, and encouraged them to use their education for the betterment of society.

In the ceremony, students who excelled in their respective departments were honored with prestigious Departmental medals and prizes. These awards recognized their outstanding academic performance and contributions to their fields of study.   A total of 125 medals and cash prizes were distributed among 155 students.

The recipients were honored with 46 Gold medals, including prestigious accolades such as the President Gold Medal, Director Gold Medal, and The President of India Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal, along with various Department Gold Medals.  Additionally, 8 other medals were awarded, including the Institute Silver Medal, Institute Bronze Medal, and several Donor-instituted Medals.

The event saw the inauguration of ten new Department Gold Medals, which were generously instituted by donors: Mrs. Mavis Bertha Wilkinson Department Gold Medal, Frau Odillie Schiffer Department Gold Medal, Smt. Sukh Devi Kulshreshtha Department Gold Medal, Frau Gertrude Felden Department Gold Medal, Smt. Lalit Kishori Department Gold Medal, Mr. Bevan Ross Wilkinson Department Gold Medal, Shri Hari Chand Nagalia Department Gold Medal, Smt. Prem Lata Nagalia Department Gold Medal, Shri Suresh Chandra Kapoor Department Gold Medal, and Prof. Kumkum Garg Department Gold Medal.

The awards recognized excellence in various categories, with 81 awards for outstanding academic performance, 33 awards for remarkable projects and dissertations (including the best project award), 3 awards for exceptional Ph.D. theses, 5 awards for overall/all-rounder performance, 1 award for exceptional social service (The President of India Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal), 1 award for outstanding community service (Kedar Nath Agarwala, I.S.E. Memorial Trophy and Cash Award), and 1 award for significant contributions in enhancing the entrepreneurship culture at IIT Roorkee (Hari Krishna Mittal Leadership Award).

 List of Gold Medals Convocation 2023:

President Gold Medal – Aryan Jain, B.Tech. (Computer Science and Engineering)

Director Gold Medal – Atharva Karanjgaokar, B.Tech. (Mechanical Engineering)

The President of India Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma Gold Medal – Kavya Saxena, B.Tech. (Production and Industrial Engineering)

 List of Institute Medals Convocation 2023:

Institute Silver Medal – Mohit Kumar, IDD-B.Tech. (Computer Science and Engineering) and M.Tech. (Computer Science and Engineering)

Institute Bronze Medal – Prerna Kumar, B.Tech. (Computer Science and Engineering)

B V R Mohan Reddy, Chairman, BoG, said,  The IITs are symbols of progress in nation-building in India, and IIT Roorkee has continued to hold the flag flying high for more than 176 years. The institute has been a cornerstone of India’s progress as it continues to produce exceptional talent, drive research and innovation, and address pressing societal needs. With its unwavering dedication to excellence, the institute stands poised to witness India’s ascent to new heights of greatness. I extend my heartfelt appreciation to Prof. K K Pant and the entire faculty at IIT Roorkee for their tireless dedication and exceptional contributions in transforming our institution into a thriving technology hub of the 21st century.”


Load More Related Articles
Load More By Editorial team
Load More In News Updates
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Union Budget 2024-25: ₹1.48 lakh crore has been allocated for education, employment and skilling

Finance Minister announced the Prime Minister’s package of 5 schemes and initiatives to fa…